Logo-Carbon13-Tech-and-soul

The Soul part / La partie ÉMOTIONS

Logo-Vinyl-Sound

The Impact of Audio Media ... on Emotion !

The vinyl "SOUND" … !?

Photo-disque-vinyl

As an enlightened amateur of music and audio technologies, I had many opportunities to exchange with vinyl fans, about the "warmth, wider stereo space, ... and even humanity" that this purely analog medium had - in their eyes - compared to digital sound (CDs at the time, then audio files now).

Having a good practice and experience of the Analog audio world (electronics) and the Digital audio world (creation of algorithms and software), I became interested in the supposed benefits of "Vinyl Sound" considering that its flaws (cracks, background noise, rumble, ...) were not the first source of emotion for the vinyl"fans".

icon-ampoule

THE PROJECT

Rather oriented "comfort of use" (digital audio file) while being firmly opposed to the loss of sound quality (mp3 format, loudness war, ...), I carried out this personal investigation by mixing the scientific approach AND comparative listening (Studio monitoring, controlled conditions).

The vinyl’s edition having almost disappeared from the market for 20 years (1990 to 2010), it was also necessary to wait for the combination of progress on resins, engraving and pressing care to have comparative elements ... comparable.

For this, I acquired CD and Vinyl versions from the same master and carefully re-edited in a "heavy vinyl" version, for digitization with Hi-Res technology via an audiophile turntable: Sony PS-HX500.

Logo Hi-Res audio
icon-oreille

EXPERIMENTATION

I first developed an objective measurement "metric" which - it turns out - is not in the classical tools of sound engineers (I am not talking here about a phase correlation measure). It turned out that the signal from the vinyl did not have the same "spatial dimension", nor the same "roundness" as its CD’s version, for similar frequency response curve and dynamic range.

On this basis, I developed proprietary algorithms - with adjustment variables - to emulate the audio output of a vinyl sound from a mastered source done for CD media.

After quantifying the results and submitting « blind tests" to several expert listeners, it seems to me I have achieved a very satisfactory processing, which immediately generates «  listening pleasure » ... while keeping the benefit of the digital support (mobility, streaming, DNLA, ...).

Some extracts to listen below.

Comparisons between the audio CD version and its Vinyl Sound emulation sauce "Carbon13".

To be listened with a good HEADPHONE and/or a good AUDIO system !

Examples made from the track [ 04 Da Funk - extract ] of the French Group DAFT PUNK - Album : Homework (1997) - Label : Virgin Records. - NOTA : This album is one of the 1001 albums you should have listened to in your life !

excerpt 1 - CD source

excerpt 1 - Vinyl Sound emulated from CD • Carbon13

extract 2 - CD source

excerpt 2 - Vinyl Sound emulated from CD • Carbon13

excerpt 3 - source CD

excerpt 3 - Vinyl Sound emulated from CD • Carbon13

Logo-Carbon13-Tech-and-soul

The Soul part / La partie ÉMOTIONS

Logo-Vinyl-Sound

L'incidence du Média audio … sur l'Émotion !

Le "SON" vinyl … !?

Photo-disque-vinyl

En qualité d’amateur éclairé de musique et de technologies audio, j’ai eu de multiples occasions d’échanger avec des inconditionnels du disque vinyl, sur la partie « chaleur, largeur d’espace, … voir d’humanité » que ce support purement analogique avait — à leur yeux — par rapport au son numérique (CD pour l’époque, puis fichiers audio maintenant).

Ayant une bonne pratique et expérience du monde audio Analogique (électronique) et du monde audio Numérique (création d'algorithmes et de logiciels), je me suis intéressé aux bénéfices supposés du "Son vinyl" en considérant que ses défauts (cracs, bruit de fond, rumble, …) n'étaient pas la première source d'émotion des "inconditionnels" du vinyl.

icon-ampoule

LE PROJET

Plutôt orienté « confort d’utilisation » (fichier audio numérique) tout en étant fermement opposé à la perte de qualité du son (format mp3, loudness war, …), j’ai réalisé cette investigation personnelle en mixant l’approche scientifique ET l’écoute comparative (monitoring Studio, conditions contrôlées).

L'édition sur support Vinyl ayant quasiment disparu du marché pendant 20 ans (1990 à 2010), il a aussi fallu attendre la combinaison des progrès sur les résines, la gravure et le soin de pressage pour avoir des éléments comparatifs … comparables.

Pour cela, j’ai acquis des versions CD et Vinyle issus du même master et ré-édité avec soin en version « vinyl lourd », pour une digitalisation avec technologie Hi-Res via une platine audiophile : Sony PS-HX500.

Logo Hi-Res audio
icon-oreille

L'EXPÉRIMENTATION

J’ai premièrement développé une « métrique » de mesure objective qui — il se trouve — n’est pas dans les outils classiques des ingénieurs du son (je ne parle pas ici d’une mesure de corrélation de phase). Force était de reconnaître que le signal issu du vinyle n’avait pas la même « dimension spatiale », ni la même « rondeur » que sa version issue du CD, pour une linéarité de la courbe de réponse fréquentielle et une dynamique très similaire.

Sur cette base, j'ai réalisé des algorithmes spécifiques — avec variables d'ajustement — pour émuler le rendu du son Vinyl à partir de source masterisée pour le support CD.

Après quantification des résultats et soumission "en aveugle" à plusieurs auditeurs expert, il me semble être arrivé à un processing très satisfaisant, qui génère immédiatement un plaisir à l'écoute … tout en gardant le bénéfice du support numérique (mobilité, streaming, DNLA, …)

Quelques extraits à écouter ci-dessous.

Comparatifs entre le CD audio et son émulation Vinyl Sound sauce "Carbon13"

A écouter avec un bon CASQUE et / ou une bonne CHAINE AUDIO !

Exemples réalisés à partir du morceau [ 04 Da Funk - extrait ] du Groupe Français DAFT PUNK - Album : Homework (1997) - Label : Virgin Records. •  NOTA : Cet album fait partie des 1001 albums qu'il faut avoir écoutés dans sa vie !

extrait 1 - source CD

extrait 1 - Vinyl Sound émulé à partir du CD • Carbon13

extrait 2 - source CD

extrait 2 - Vinyl Sound émulé à partir du CD • Carbon13

extrait 3 - source CD

extrait 3 - Vinyl Sound émulé à partir du CD • Carbon13