Logo-Carbon13-Tech-and-soul

The respect of the artwork ... for the Emotion !

FOR A NON-AGRESSIVE and RESPECTFUL AUDIO MASTERING! (2)

The MIXING source

The analysis of the file shows us a regular progression of the average level (RMS) via 3 steps (beginning, middle, end), from ≈ -26 dB to ≈ -14 dB, that is to say 12 dB of difference between the beginning and the end of the song.

graph-audio

click on the image to enlarge it

The "current" MASTERING

We find the same progression of the average level (RMS) - in 3 steps - from ≈ -17 dB to ≈ -6 dB, or 11 dB difference between the beginning and the end of the song.

Very surprising: the gain of +1 dB is without real interest. Only the "global" average level went from ≈ -17 to ≈ -9 dB, that is to say a "displacement" of +8 dB, which would have been strictly the same if you had simply turned up the listening volume !

graph-audio

click on the image to enlarge it

Nothing very annoying in itself ... except that this +8 dB gain was achieved at the expense of the quality of the music, because there was only 2 dB of margin (peak vs 0 dBFS) on the mix file.

How this gain of ≈ +8dB has been realized ? ... by a strong limitation of peaks (see other article here).

graph-audio

click on the image to enlarge it

How is this negative? If there had been very few peaks, the audible impact would have been imperceptible. Unfortunately, for this third part of the song (≈ 1/3 or about 1 min) it represents a good part of the useful signal! So, the limitation applied "cuts off" the necessary musical information from the « intense » moment, and as a direct consequence on the "imprecise-aggressive" side that we find in a comparative listening [ Mastering source (same RMS level as the mix) ].

To quickly illustrate the damage, you can also listen to the "muted" signal [ Signal removed trought Peak Limitation Mastering ]. This is far from negligible !

WHY « SO MUCH HATE » ?

To tell the truth, I don't know !… 

Between a lack of attentive listening, ignorance of the consequences (or ... ???) ... There are several possibilities!

Why don't we simply realize an optimized "compression" of the whole work and thus bring the difference between the beginning (low level) and the end (high level) into an amplitude interval easier to listen to in mobility ?

Perhaps because the vast majority of compression solutions tend to "mute/soften" the sound a little and reduce the width of the stereo image (difficult to quantify, but a reality in comparative listening).

Next & proposals …

Logo-Carbon13-Tech-and-soul

Le respect de l'oeuvre … pour l'Émotion !

POUR UN MASTERING AUDIO NON-AGRESSIF et RESPECTEUX DES NUANCES ! (2)

Le MIXAGE source

L'analyse du fichier nous indique une progression régulière du niveau moyen (RMS) via 3 étapes (début, mileu, fin), de ≈ -26 dB à ≈ -14 dB, soit 12 dB de différence entre le début et la fin du morceau.

graph-audio

cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Le MASTERING "actuel"

On retrouve la même progression du niveau moyen (RMS) — en 3 étapes — de ≈ -17 dB à ≈ -6 dB, soit 11 dB de différence entre le début et la fin du morceau.

Très suprenant : le gain de +1 dB est sans réel intéret. Seul le niveau moyen "global" est passé de ≈ -17 à ≈ -9 dB, soit un "déplacement" de +8 dB, qui aurait strictement le même si vous aviez simplement monté le volume d'écoute !!

graph-audio

cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Rien de très génant en soi … si ce n'est que ce gain de +8 dB a été réalisé au détriment de la qualité de l'oeuvre, car il n'y avait que 2 dB de marge (peak vs 0 dBFS) sur le fichier du mixage.

Comment ce gain de ≈ +8dB a été réalisé ? … par une forte limitation des peaks (voir autre article ici).

graph-audio

cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

En quoi est-ce négatif ? S'il n'y avait eu que très peu de peaks, l'incidence audible aurait été imperceptible. Malheureusement, pour cette troisième partie du morceau (≈ 1/3 soit environ 1 min) cela represente une bonne partie du signal utile ! Donc, la limitation appliquée "tronçonne" des informations musicale nécessaire du "moment "fort", et pour conséquence directe sur le coté "imprécis-agressif" que l'on retrouve en écoute comparative [ Mastering initial à niveau RMS identique au mixage ].

Pour illustrer rapidement les dégats, on peut aussi écouter le signal "coupé" [ Signal retiré via la Limitation du Mastering ]. C'est loin d'être négligeable !

POURQUOI "TANT DE HAINE" ?

A vrai dire, je ne sais pas ! Entre un manque d'écoute attentive, l'ignorance des conséquences (ou … ??) … Il y a plusieurs possibilités !

Pourquoi nepas simplement réaliser une "compression" optimisée de l'ensemble de l'œuvre et ainsi ramener la différence entre le début (niveau faible) et la fin (niveau fort) dans un interval d'amplitude plus facile d'écoute en mobilité ?

Peut-être parce que la grande majorité des solutions de compression ont tendance à "étouffer/ ramollir" un peu le son et à réduire la largeur de l'image stéréo (difficile à quantifier, mais réalité à l'écoute comparative).



Suite & propositions …