Logo-Carbon13-Tech-and-soul

The respect of the artwork ... for the Emotion !

FOR A NON-AGRESSIVE and RESPECTFUL AUDIO MASTERING!

A final mix should - normally, but this seems to be less and less frequent - have a sound with dynamic, depth & air in the stereo space.

If the difference between the low and high volume passages does not create any listening problems in the mixing studio (quiet, high-end equipment), … it becomes very problematic for you and me when we go to listen this music in much less favorable conditions.

studio-mastering

From the SONY Walkman®, we now listen to a lot of music on the move (on foot, subway-bus, car, train, plane, ...). Unlike "home" listening, the level of ambient "noise" is much higher and penalizes the qualitative hearing of low volume moment / track.

For this reason, it has become common and normal to "reduce" the overall dynamic range of the track so that the gap between the "low" and "high" parts is smaller, facilitating comfortable listening in noisy environments / or at low volume in quiet environments (background or ambient music).

pieton-écoutant musique-baladeur-audio

Technically, there are 2 "automatic" methods for this: compression and limitation (level automation being a manual method, more tedious and more "personal" in terms of decision).

However, after analyzing many musical albums on the market, it appears that this high "important" limitation processing is the solution used 99% by Mastering Studios.

compresseur-audio-analogique

I propose you to study the principles ... and misdeeds (see article) on a piece of Californian pop taken as a representative example of this current trend.

On the basis of the "final" Mix and its version "mastered" by a third party (AIFF format), a fine analysis allows us to highlight the questionable benefits of this mastering method, and to test alternative solutions more respectful of the work. The audio comparisons provided at the bottom of the page (30 s max) are excerpts from the beginning (low volume moments), middle and end (high volume moments).

Next page …

Logo-Carbon13-Tech-and-soul

Le respect de l'oeuvre … pour l'Émotion !

POUR UN MASTERING AUDIO NON-AGRESSIF et RESPECTEUX DES NUANCES !

Un mixage final se doit — normalement, mais cela semble être de moins en moins fréquent — avoir une belle dynamique et aération du son.

Si la différence entre les passages faibles et fort ne pose aucun problème d'écoute dans le studio de mixage (calme, équipement de qualité), elle devient fort problématique pour vous et moi lorsque l'on va écouter l'oeuvre dans des conditions bien moins favorable.

studio-mastering

Depuis le Walkman® de SONY, nous écoutons maintenant beaucoup de musique en déplacement (à pieds, métro-bus, voiture, train, avion, …). En différence de l'écoute "domestique", le niveau de "bruit" ambiant est bien plus élevé et pénalise l'audition qualitative des passage à bas volume.

Pour cela, il est devenu courant et normal de "réduire" l'amplitude dynamique globale de l'oeuvre pour que l'écart entre le passage "faible" et "fort" soit plus faible, cela facilitant une écoute confortable en milieu bruyant / ou à faible volume en milieu calme (musique de fond ou d'ambiance).

pieton-écoutant musique-baladeur-audio

Techniquement, il existe 2 méthodes "automatiques" pour cela : la compression et la limitation (l'automation des niveaux étant une méthode manuelle, plus fastidieuse et plus "personnelle" en terme de décision).

Hors, au regard de l'analyse de nombre d'oeuvres musicales publiées actuellement, il ressort que la limitation "importante" soit l'unique solution connue des prestataires de Mastering.

compresseur-audio-analogique

Je vous propose donc d'en étudier les principes … et méfaits (voir article) sur un morceau de pop californien pris pour exemple représentatif de cette tendance actuelle.

Sur la base du Mix "final" et de sa version "masterisée" par un tiers (format AIFF), une analyse fine nous permet de mettre en lumière les bénéfices discutables de cette méthode de mastering, et de tester des solutions alternatives plus respectueuse de l'œuvre. Les comparaisons audio fournies en bas de page (30 s max) sont sur des extraits du début (moments faibles), mileu et fin (moments forts).

… suite